Starting Today, 32 countries have cancelled the GSP treatment for Chinese exports, only 3 countries including Australia still retain it

  Starting from December 1st, 2021, our country’s customs will no longer issue GSP certificates of origin for goods exported to EU member states, the United Kingdom, Canada, Turkey, Ukraine and other 32 countries. This is an announcement issued by the General Administration of Customs at the end of October this year on the "Notice on No longer Issuing GSP Certificates of Origin for Goods Exported to EU Member States, Britain, Canada, Turkey, Ukraine and Liechtenstein" (No. 84 in 2021) No. Announcement). This announcement does not seem to have attracted much attention to ordinary people, but it is of great importance to many manufacturing enterprises in our country, especially export enterprises. Because behind it is that 32 countries in the world, including EU member states, the United Kingdom, Canada, Turkey, Ukraine, and Liechtenstein, cancel the GSP treatment for China’s exports, and will treat China as a developed country for trade and no longer grant inclusive benefits. System tariff preferences.

  According to industry insiders, the Generalized System of Preferences (Generalized System of Preferences), referred to as the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP), is the export of manufactured and semi-manufactured products from developed countries (beneficial countries) to developing countries and regions (beneficiary countries). Provide a universal, non-discriminatory, and non-reciprocal tariff preference system. Since the implementation of the Generalized System of Preferences in 1978, 40 countries have given our country's GSP tariff preferences, most of which are my country's important trading partners, such as EU member states and the United Kingdom, Russia, Canada, and Japan. our country has also actively used the Generalized System of Preferences to expand exports to developed countries and played an important role in the growth of foreign trade and industrial development.

  As Leadtek know that the 40 countries that have given our country’s GSP tariff preferences are: EU 27 (France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, Greece, Portugal, Spain) , Sweden, Finland, Austria, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Malta, Slovenia, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia), the United Kingdom, 3 countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan) , Turkey, Ukraine, Canada, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Japan, Norway, New Zealand, Australia.

  However, with the rapid development of our country’s economy and the continuous improvement of people’s living standards, our country is no longer a low-income or low-middle-income economy according to the World Bank standards. For this reason, a number of GSP countries have successively announced the cancellation of the GSP treatment granted to my country in recent years. After the preferential countries notified the cancellation of the GSP treatment, our country’s export commodities can no longer enjoy tariff preferences by virtue of the GSP certificate of origin. Correspondingly, the relevant visa measures of the customs will also be adjusted accordingly. Previously, after the Japanese Embassy and the Eurasian Economic Commission notified the cancellation of the GSP treatment granted to China, the Customs has no longer issued the GSP to Japan and the Eurasian Economic Union from April 1, 2019 and October 12, 2021, respectively. Preferential certificate of origin.

  The GSP certificate of origin is a preferential certificate of origin issued by the authorized agency of the preferential country in accordance with the rules of origin and related requirements of the preferential country of the GSP. Official documents. Undoubtedly, enjoying tariff preferences is the most important and critical use of the GSP certificate of origin. As far as our country is concerned, due to the "demand" of foreign customers in international trade, the GSP certificate of origin issued by our country has also been used for other purposes, including as a certificate of origin, for foreign exchange settlement and flow certification, trade practices, and Trade documents, etc. In our country, the customs is the only issuing agency for the GSP certificate of origin.

  Starting from December 1stour country's customs will no longer issue GSP certificates of origin in addition to EU member states, including Canada, Turkey, Ukraine, Liechtenstein, and the United Kingdom, which has left the EU. In this regard, the General Administration of Customs has also issued a reminder to relevant companies, suggesting that exporting companies inform foreign customers of the requirements of the customs announcement as soon as possible, and communicate and explain well to avoid the lack of GSP certificate of origin that affects trade. At the same time, if relevant enterprises need to apply for certificates of origin for goods exported to the above 32 countries, they can apply for non-preferential certificates of origin (also known as general certificates of origin, CO in English). The non-preferential certificate of origin is a certificate of origin of goods issued in accordance with the country's non-preferential rules of origin. It has been self-printed at present. Compared with the GSP certificate of origin, it is more convenient and efficient to apply. According to the information of the General Administration of Customs, the non-preferential certificate of origin has been self-printed. Compared with the Generalized System of Preferences Certificate of Origin, the application is more convenient and efficient, and the enterprise can complete the entire application process without leaving home.

  It is understood that starting from December 1st, the only countries that still retain the GSP treatment for our country are Norway, New Zealand, and Australia. In this regard, Leatek that the cancellation of the GSP treatment granted to our country by 32 countries will temporarily make some export companies lose tariff preferences and bring certain pressure. But generally speaking, this impact is limited: due to the increasingly competitive competitiveness of Chinese-made products, it is difficult for a simple tariff policy to affect the overall situation of international trade of Chinese products, so it will not affect the long-term future of Chinese export enterprises. Fight for greater market opportunities.

  At the same time, as the "Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement" (RCEP) will come into effect on January 1 next year, our country will usher in a new milestone in further deepening its opening up. RCEP is an advanced free trade agreement initiated by ten countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations and joined by five countries that have free trade agreements with ASEAN, including our country, Japan, South Korea, Australia, and New Zealand. A total of 15 countries constitute a high-level free trade agreement. RCEP aims to establish a free trade agreement with a unified market by reducing tariffs and non-tariff barriers.